Ends and Beginnings.

And so, two things draw to an end. My first semester as a graduate student, and the first arc of Lucky Me, with Part Six, which you can view here.

My first semester was all of the following:

  • Challenging
  • Difficult
  • Not at all what I expected
  • Conducive to alcoholism

(Kidding about the last one. In their defense, my teachers are fair, balanced, and overall cool people, as I imagine most good teachers to be.)

It has also made me realize the importance of being organized, and (shudder) planning ahead. I have no problem organizing; however, in the throes of concentration, organization becomes secondary, tertiary, and so on down the line.

However, this break, I will be working on the projects that I have been remiss about. I have scores of notes and character sketches that need to be organized and typed, and certain stories that need to be finished before new ones can begin.

And, of course, the second arc of Lucky Me will be among those new stories.

Take care, and look forward to more entries in the next few weeks.

-Brian

P.S. It has come to my attention that learning to draw well would be a useful skill for anybody trying to break into comics. If you know any good instructional books on drawing character anatomy (as in, lines \ structure), It would be much appreciated.

P.P.S I may be swearing off coffee for a while. We don’t have what one would call a “good understanding” of one another…

Leave a Reply

