Sarcasm and following the script.

(I swear, this won’t actually happen, but you know it’d be a brilliant idea.)

I took a break from working on schoolwork, the myriad other things going through my life, and further fleshing out my secret project (it’s not a huge secret, if you ask I’ll give you a brief overview of it, but it’s in no way close to being ready for public consumption) to write a short comic.

Why did I do this? Well, I had a good idea, and I didn’t want to let it go to waste. Also, it’s perfect for the format, it’d be a nice 22-page story, and on top of the initial twist, there’s a rather nice one at the end.

(Also, to be truthful, I needed the practice. I haven’t written a comic script before, so I need to get acclimated to the format. I would like to take this time to thank Neil Gaiman, Brian K. Vaughan, and Dark Horse for providing various scripting aides and references.)

So what have I learned?

Well, for starters, It’s eerily similar to the way I write in my head. Massive attention to detail and setup, easily seperated dialogue, narration, the works.

Despite my literary upbringings, I was, apparently, born to write comics.

(This statement, in addition to being terribly egotistical, is incredibly unrealistic. Though my mother did tell me once about a dream she had where I popped out of her womb, demanded a pen and paper, and started scribbling furiously. Odd, yet inspirational.)

That’s enough for now. Tomorrow, I’ll be posting part 2 of my untitled story, and shipping along some more of Seven’s adventures (Lucky Me pts. 3 and 4) to Naomi over at Nomesque Fiction.

Additionally, she requested that I draw out what Seven’s tattoo looks like. As I was distracted in class tonight, I did.

And I’m overcome with jealousy, because my fictional character has one incredibly cool looking tattoo.

-Brian

One response to “Sarcasm and following the script.

  1. ah being distracted in class, we’re gonna have to sit in theback of class and giggle at QC, cuz lets face it, as cool as maurice is, I don’t think any of us can take 3 hours of being talked at…good luck buddy!

Leave a Reply

